SWOSU Freshmen Selected For Honors Program

Seventeen freshmen have been selected to be in Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s honors program.
Members of the 2016-17 class are:
Name                                  School                              Major
Kylie D. Biggs                 Hitchcock               Special Education
Kaitlyn D. Bowling         Douglas                 Special Education
Rachel E. Cook           Oklahoma City             Pre-Pharmacy
Brandon H. Cryer             Tipton                      Pre-Pharmacy
Daniel J. Gassen               El Reno            Engineering in Physics
Ezgi E. Gursel               Weatherford      Engineering Technology
Christina M. Kidd             Yukon                            Biology
Andrew J. Marull              Edmond                    Pre-Pharmacy
Jaidyn R. McAdoo        Oklahoma City            Health Sciences
Sarah Moad                           Erick                             Biology
Cheyenne G. Nguyen       Allen, TX                  Pre-Pharmacy
Maegan A. Norman        Saginaw TX   Two Dimensional Studio Art
Taylor J. Oney                      Yukon                             Biology
Kaci N. Pennington        Kingfisher                   Pre-Pharmacy
Amber R. Powers                 Loco                                Biology
Emily A. Trail                   Weatherford    Engineering in Physics
Nicholas A. Wheeler        Claremore                  Pre-Pharmacy
Each of the class members take Honors General Education courses, get exposed to interdisciplinarity in academics via the Honors curriculum, select an area of interest (research, study abroad, service learning) and a faculty mentor, and together develop a capstone experience that will culminate with an Honors thesis.
Honors scholars are encouraged to participate in the Oklahoma Scholar-Leadership Enrichment Program (OSLEP), a unique intercollegiate-interdisciplinary program designed to develop the scholarship and leadership abilities of Oklahoma’s outstanding college and university students.
For more information on the SWOSU Honors Program, visit http://www.swosu.edu/academics/honors/

Picture Caption: Members of the 2016-17 honors program class at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford are (front from left): Brandon H. Cryer, Tipton; Andrew J. Marull, Edmond; Kylie D. Biggs, Hitchcock; Jaidyn R. McAdoo, Oklahoma City; Rachel E. Cook, Oklahoma City; Ezgi E. Gursel, Weatherford; Kaci N. Pennington, Kingfisher; and Amber R. Powers, Loco. Back from left—Dr. Andrea Holgado; Nicholas A. Wheeler, Claremore; Daniel J. Gassen, El Reno; Taylor J. Oney, Yukon; Maegan A. Norman, Saginaw TX; Christina M. Kidd, Yukon; Sarah Moad, Erick; Kaitlyn D. Bowling, Douglas; and Dr. Brian Campbell. Not pictured are Cheyenne G. Nguyen, Allen TX; and Emily A. Trail, Weatherford.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s